DoD Announces Winners of the Secretary of Defense Evironmental Awards - Air Force Winners Take Home Four of Eight

  • Published
The Department of Defense announced today the winners of the Fiscal Year 2006 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. A panel of judges representing federal and state agencies and public members have selected the following installations, teams, and individuals as the winners of this year's awards:

Arnold Air Force Base, Tennessee
Natural Resources Conservation - Large Installation

Fort Drum, New York
Cultural Resources Management - Installation

Mr. Gary M. O'Donnell, Hickam Air Force Base, Hawaii
Cultural Resources Management - Individual/Team

Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma
Environmental Quality - Industrial Installation

Marine Corps Base, Camp Smedley D. Butler, Japan
Environmental Quality - Overseas Installation

Marine Corps Base, Hawaii
Pollution Prevention - Non-Industrial Installation

Pollution Prevention Afloat Team, Naval Sea Systems Command, Washington, D.C.
Pollution Prevention - Individual/Team

Dover Air Force Base, Delaware
Environmental Restoration - Installation

Each year since 1962, the Secretary of Defense has recognized outstanding achievement in environmental management by the Components by military and civilian personnel, at both domestic and overseas bases, to sustain military readiness, and training and operational capabilities. Mr. Kenneth Krieg, the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics will officiate at the ceremony honoring the winners, on June 7, 2007, at 3:00 p.m. in the Pentagon Auditorium (BH650). U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Steve Johnson has been invited to deliver the keynote address.